HowTo – Use Gmail on a Sony Ericsson Phone

Posted: August 21, 2008 in Howto
Tags: , , , , , ,

Following are the steps I followed to get Gmail working on my phone.

  1. You’ll need two certificate files which are available here. Download the zip file, extract it to a folder, then send both the certificates using bluetooth or cable to your SE phone. Send them one at a time otherwise they won’t install properly. After you send them to your phone you’ll get a prompt to install, press yes and repeat the same process for the second certificate.
  2. Then Go to Menu>Messaging>Email>Settings>Account Settings>New Account
  3. Add an account name (i.e. bob’s gmail etc.)
  4. You’ll see a screen with your account name at the top. Then enter the following settings in the corresponding sections
    • Email Address: yourlogin@gmail.com
    • Connect Using: Your Internet accessing profile (for GrameenPhone users it is GP-Internet)
    • Connection Type: IMAP4 (I prefer IMAP for gmail, you can also use pop3)
    • Incoming Server: imap.gmail.com (for pop3 use pop.gmail.com)
    • Username: yourlogin@gmail.com
    • Password: Your Gmail Password
    • Download: Headers Only (Keeps the data usage to a minimum)
    • Check Interval: Off (Any Automated setting uses data. I use a 12h interval)
    • Outgoing Server: smtp.gmail.com
    • Username: yourlogin@gmail.com
    • Password: Your Gmail Password
    • Allow Connection: Any Network
    • Auto Connect: Off
    • Your Name: <your name>
    • Signature: <Anything> (This will be attached below every mail you sent from your phone)
    • Copy Outgoing: yourlogin@gmail.com (so that you have a copy of the mails you send from your phone)
    • Encryption:
      • Incoming Server: SSL
      • Outgoing Server: TLS
    • Incoming Port: 993
    • Outgoing Port: 587
  5. Press Done
  6. Select Your Account Name from the list of accounts
  7. Go back to Email>Inbox
  8. Select Send&rec
  9. Gmail is set up on your phone

For a simpler method you can also install the Gmail Java application which is available at http://mail.google.com/a

Use your mobile phones browser not Opera Mini, otherwise it won’t recognize your phone model. However, you can’t send attachments from this software.

Comments
  1. […] Sending and receiving email (IMAP4, POP3) even from your gmail accounts with attachments […]

  2. mobile phone says:

    interested. thank for info

  3. Bruno Azzinnari says:

    Couldn’t make it work on a W580i. Installed the certificates and configured as detailed, but it just hangs in “Looking for Server” (Buscando Servidor, in spanish).

    Any idea?! Thanks!

  4. gigi says:

    cannot install certificate. Transfer certificate via bluetooth to my cell w660i is ok but not received install certifcate message.

  5. Neerav Kothari says:

    I am on a vodafone edge network in mumbai, india and am using a w350i. I can use the internet normally with the browser and also using java applications like the gmail app. i have configured the mail app inbuilt in my phone exactly as u described here but am not able to go past the ‘Finding Server’ phase. any help?
    thanks
    Neerav

  6. Neerav Kothari says:

    i tried using pop server but its not working either.

  7. Avak says:

    Cannot instal it on my w850i phone, any suggestions?

  8. david says:

    thank you..that worked a treat!
    ds

  9. James says:

    Thanks alot mate!!
    If it doesnt work make sure your changing the servers on the Encryption.
    Thanks again!!

  10. varun says:

    same problem as neerav above and incidentally same network and city (vodafone mumbai). I have a gprs connection on my phone. Can use my phone to access wap sites via phone browser/ opera mini/ gmail app but cant access mails with phone’s pop client..

  11. John says:

    I’ve a problem too.I can’t install the certificate on my w900 because when I install it,it says certificate list is full.How can I delete the certificate because it’s grayed out??

  12. […] mai special pentru email. Pe urmă, am mai făcut o chestie pe care vroiam s-o fac de mai demult. Mi-am configurat contul gmail săse sincronizeze cu […]

  13. The Matrix says:

    I have the problem too
    my phone k750i
    cannot install the certificate

  14. Elliot says:

    Thank your dear poster. i have been working on installing gmail in my SE G700 for 2 days. But after reading this post i fixed problem, now gmail in my telephone. 🙂 thank you. my mistakes were in outgoing port(i wrote 25) and in username(i didn’t write my full email adress, i entered just username)

  15. sandip says:

    it is not working in my phone sony ericssion k320i. the problem showing is wrong mailbox or password & server message invalid credentials 37if10989510zpk.23. if any body knows the solution plz help me .
    i think my problem is in installing certificates and actually it is not showing any option of installing those certificates

    thank you

  16. KAITOQIT says:

    i use w200i, i can’t install certificate and if i try conect to gmail always show ‘server not found’.
    what wrong with it?

  17. Ritchie Hicks says:

    Worked a treat on the Satio for me – never needed to install signatures. Nice.

  18. vijayarangan says:

    I cant able to down load that certificate please help me regarding this matter.

    Thanks in advance

    • drabir says:

      That is odd. The box.net link is working fine for me. I’m sending you certificates by mail. They are in a zip file so you need to unzip them and send one by one to the phone

  19. Jinu says:

    Hai!!! I use sony p800 smartphone,can anyone send me the gmail configuration for my phone via email
    .
    .
    .
    please…

  20. nicolas says:

    Hi,
    Can you please tell me where (in which folder) you must install the certificates ?
    Thanks

  21. Dhruv says:

    I downloaded d ceritificates n when sent them, it said, ‘certificates already installed’.
    n with the settings given, i’m not able to connect. it says ‘server not found’.
    i’m using w910i and have a vodafone india connection(maharashtra circle). Please help.

    • drabir says:

      I think u need to get in touch with vodafone support. There were some previous queries regarding this setting for use on the vodafone network. It’s still working on mine.

      • Ram says:

        Hi drabir,
        My mobile is SE Naite j105 and I m using BSNl 3G Sim. I am also having same problem server not found

  22. drabir says:

    @Ram: Can’t seem to have a solution. Have only seen the issue with indian telecoms. Could you please get in touch with the operators customer care? Maybe they could shed some light on the matter. One possibility seems to be that the operator has blocked access to that domain.

  23. […] The busiest day of the year was April 20th with 114 views. The most popular post that day was HowTo – Use Gmail on a Sony Ericsson Phone. […]

  24. Shankar says:

    how to install that certificates on to the w200i phone? please reply

  25. D.Ramesh says:

    how to get gemail alerts on my mobile sony ericssion.

    please send settings of alerts access.

  26. zAlbee says:

    For some reason, even though the Google help doc says you can use either port 465 or 587 for SMTP, I wasn’t able to send mail with port 465. Using port 587 like you wrote works perfectly.

    Email works great on the Sony Ericsson Hazel (J20)! Didn’t need to install the certificates. Slightly easier setup: for SMTP authentication, I just pick “Same as IMAP4”.

  27. Ojulu owar says:

    How can i use my gmail on my sony ericsson.

  28. shohab says:

    please tell me what is the mailbox number for email. i am using grameenphone

  29. Joe says:

    I forgot to configure the address on which a copy of mails sent from my phone should be saved. Can i get a copy of a mail i sent from my phone later on my mailbox? This sent mail didnt get through and i want to have the exact same content while trying again.

  30. drabir says:

    Sorry, can’t help you there. Don’t have the SE phone anymore so can’t test the settings out.

  31. Nakapipi fillipus says:

    How can i install
    The certificates of sony c702 mobile

    • drabir says:

      Sorry. Can’t help you there. Usually if you transfer the certificates to your phone via bluetooth, then an automatic option appears to install them

  32. Thomas says:

    Thanks dude! Certificates work perfect for me 🙂

  33. dammelee says:

    thank u.whoever gave the information above. . , thanks a lot. .you are great.

  34. jayesh says:

    thnx bro it worked

  35. Pruthvi says:

    Hi
    From last week onwards I m using email in my cell nly but I recive n e-mail but I cant send but I dont no wat s the problem so can u pleas suggest me?

  36. Someone essentially assist to make seriously articles
    I would state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far?
    I amazed with the research you made to create this
    particular put up incredible. Excellent task!

  37. George D says:

    Thank You So Much!!!
    Great guide, works like a charm on SE W660i.

  38. mirrim says:

    I want phone certificate for sony ericsson

  39. Bob says:

    My J108i which is locked to Telstra Australia does not respond when I transfer the .cer files into it. It doesn’t give me an option to install them, no matter what I’ve tried.

  40. Jody says:

    Skype has launched its web-dependent customer beta on the world,
    soon after establishing it extensively from the United states and You.K.

    previous this calendar month. Skype for Internet also
    now supports Linux and Chromebook for instant messaging connection (no voice and video however,
    all those call for a connect-in set up).

    The expansion from the beta adds help for an extended list of languages to aid strengthen that global functionality

Leave a Reply

