How to: Get More Internal Memory in HTC ChaCha a.k.a HTC Status

Posted: October 17, 2011 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Update: I have written a new post that needs a bit more effort but solves the memory issue. Be warned, it requires a root and a custom rom. On a positive note, I love my phone now.ย http://bit.ly/chachamemfix

Cha cha has a tiny internal memory. Best option is to load a custom rom that has link2sd and saves things on sd card. But rooting is quite difficult at the moment as well. Here is what I did.

1. Under settings>privacy, make sure backup my settings and restore applications are both checked
2. Install all applications that you need. Phone memory will get to almost zero.
3. Do a factory data reset settings>sd and phone storage>factory data reset
4. Setup the phone with your previous google account. The phone will take a long time to download all applications from market.
5. Move all applications to sd card. Except widgets, they don’t work from sd cards
7. Voila, suddenly you have an immense amount of internal memory free.

I just did a reset, my space is coming down but even with all my previous applications and more games, i have 50megs free. Previously I was struggling with 10

Let me know if this worked in the comments

Comments
  1. Chiara says:

    Resetting would erase all photos and music…any way to move those to the sd card before resetting the phone?

    • drabir says:

      I have reset my phone yesterday. My music and photos are on my sd card. They were not ruined by the reset

      • jeanpaul khoury says:

        hey i have a big problem my htc has reached an almost full storage and is telling me to make at least 512kb free space to receive messages and it’s all because of my contact storage that went up to 28 mgb with no reason and i can’t do anything i can’t open anything what do i do plz help ๐Ÿ˜€

      • RAZA says:

        Drabir tell me after doing these step will the phone again requires once the memory is fulled again after reset?

      • RAZA says:

        Dear Dabir,
        I was struggling with 18 MB I have reset my HTC Status as you guided and now I have 119 MB internal Memory available. But this is not permanent resolution. You must find out a way to link sdcard memory with Internal or a way so that when download stuff from net it directly save in sdcard memory.
        Waiting for your generous response.
        Regards,
        RAZA

  2. Bro, I have reset my phone as above steps. why on earth the whatsapp not restore back? Do I hv to reinstall manually?

    thanks ๐Ÿ™‚

    • drabir says:

      Some apps sometimes give trouble. You probably have to take a bit of pain and install it again from the market.

      Did resetting help? I still have 24mb left even after reinstalling everything and a whole lot more

  3. YS says:

    Worked for me, thank you so much ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Yes, it worked…thanks for the info ๐Ÿ™‚

    btw, is it a norm for the “contact storage” to used up 27mb? Fyi, I dont sync it with my FB or other apps. just sync with my google ctc and there are 400++ contacts in the list.

  5. I see…in actual fact I have already minimized all the image file almost to non. I observed that after the factory data reset, my contact storage is about 14mb, then 1 or 2 days later can see the increased of mb till current 27mb ๐Ÿ˜ฆ i have dismissed all the linked suggestion, but seems the same.

    • Nina Mercado says:

      If you already dismissed all the linked suggestion, and the contact storage is still having a high portion on your internal memory, try to logging out in your Facebook HTC. Before you will log-out it will warn you about that it will erase all save contents including contacts on FB in your phone, just click ok. Then if you check again your internal memory, the contact storage is just less than 1mb again.

      That what I did on my HTC Chacha. Before I had 23mb on my contact storage, after I did that I only had about 800kb. Hope it helps. ๐Ÿ™‚

      • Mohammad Ramadan says:

        go to storage and then go to each application and clear data for that application
        and you can also move all application you have installed to SD memory card then you can free
        space for you…
        good luck

  6. Andrea says:

    Ok, I’d like to try this. I have gotten some things from the HTC Hub (widgets and sounds..) will I have to get all these things again? Or will Ijust need to setup with Google and everything will be just as it is now – only with more internal memory????

    • drabir says:

      You will need to redownload the htc hub stuff. All the items from android market will pop right back. However, I am writing another post for a permanent fix. It requires root but now I no longer need to concern myself about phone memory.

  7. ydbdhd says:

    Fuck you i lost all my contacts….

  8. C says:

    Hi! I’d like to try this out but I don’t really get this part:

    “Setup the phone with your previous google account. The phone will take a long time to download all applications from market.”

    Can you explain a little how I can setup to my Google account? Much thanks )

    • drabir says:

      @C: Setting up google account is simple. Once you do a reset and boot your phone, it will start asking a lot of info about your wifi network and facebook password and also it will ask for your google account. When it asks for your google account, put in the login and password of the google account you are currently using on this phone. That’s it. Please don’t skip this at the boot. Otherwise, the phone sometimes fails to restore all apps

  9. ramiz says:

    M serious pissed of htc cha cha..plz help..cnt download ny app..such a bullshit ph..phewww…

    • drabir says:

      I’m writing another post on how to root and get a lot more memory space along with a better battery life. Will finish this weekend and post here

      • Tatiana says:

        Hello Drabir,

        Are you done with the post on how to root and get a lot more memory space along with a better battery life?

        I really want to do that!

      • drabir says:

        Sorry about the delay. But work has been horrendously hectic and I haven’t managed to get any time to sit down and write. Before that though you need to S-OFF your phone from any mobile shop. Try to find out a shop in your country that carries the XTC clip and spend 10usd to S-off it. I hope to write it this weekend and publish next week

  10. LaTarsha says:

    I neva have enough memory on this stupid phone!!! I uninstalled my games n other stuff n still dont but have but 5mb! I reset this stupid phone twice n the 1st time i lost all my contacts. I only use fb n the internet on this phone. I called att n still couldnt get no help!

  11. Kat says:

    Wow that really helped, Went from 5MB to 106 thanks.

    How does that actually work?

    Maybe good to remind ppl to export contacts to the SD card

    Look fwd to a longer post at some point
    Thankyou

  12. when i do all the steps and reset, i put in the details for the google mail thing, and it doesnt redownload the apps, also is it worth putting the contacts in first then syncing, then reseting or not?

    • drabir says:

      The redownloading apps always seem to work for me. Put in the gmail address during our first boot up after reset and it should work. The contact syncing method you mentioned sometimes helps, but most of the time it makes no difference

  13. Andrea says:

    THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!! I finally took the plunge and did the reset! went from 10-15MB internal memory to almost 90!!!!!!!!!

  14. angie says:

    I’ve done the factory reset twice already and it will free up some space for awhile but eventually I will see the pop up again that my internal memory is low and need to free up some space. Isn’t there a way to delete some of the apps that came on the phone that I do not use, or a way to put them on the sd card? please help! I really loved this phone when I first got it but now I’m starting to hate it. I can’t even take pictures without it telling me I need to free up some space. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  15. Rolina says:

    Thank you sooooo much! I went out and bought a larger Memory Card then found this, and realized I shouldn’t have done it. THANK YOU

  16. Doodle says:

    NOTHING was restored!!
    I dont get it, ive synced everythingwith my google mail before restoring factory settings and did all of the above
    LOST EVERYTHING and non of the pics, music, apps nothing was restored back
    i think im gonna cry right now!!

  17. Doodle says:

    Damn it!!!!!!
    Apparently i got stupid enuf to misunderstand ur directions and erased everything off the sd card too!! Who wud do that?!
    Anyway i am actually getting the apps back slowly but am.dying over all the pics and music!!

  18. wati7 says:

    Sorry i dont get it: Do you move all apps and pics from your sd to your phone and then reset it? Or do you reset with all the apps you want to keep on the sd card? (Also do you reset the phone with the sd card still inside)?
    … I want to make sure I get this right.

  19. bruno miguel da silva says:

    hi!

    im also having the same problem here! with htc chacha.

    wtf, 512mb for a smart mobile, that is a social potential and memory is the main necessity?

    a smart phone like this if this nonsense issue…wtf? couldn’t they, just make the users chose where to save/store the apps?(internal or card)? Ive done it the reset and got back some space, but eventually, it comes back to the same dilemma! im getting frustrated, because i will note reset again!

    inst a way, to instal everything new, the contacts the history,bookmarks, apps, MSG, etc. on the SD card? its taking out all the coolness of this gorgeous phone! wtf

  20. Ephew says:

    hoe to move the applications to SD card? I click settings, applications, applications that i want to move to the sd card but cannot move. Pop up message “FAILED TO MOVE APPLICATION. SYSTEM UPDATES CANNOT BE INSTALLED ON EXTERNAL MEDIA”

    how did you do it? im soooooo sick of this phone…. Nokia 3310 is more better than this phone what a craft!

  21. kim says:

    Hi, I had to factory reset my phone about 3 weeks ago due to memory problems. After the factory reset, I had over 100mb of free space. Since then, anything that I’ve downloaded, I’ve made sure I’ve moved it to my SD card straight away.
    I checked this morning, and I’ve now got only 2.4mb of free space! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I have done the ‘clean application cache’ thing endless times – it is supposed to increase the internal memory slightly, but when I did it this morning, it decresed my memory to 2.1mb.
    I’m getting slightly annoyed now, as I dont want to have to do another factory reset.
    Is there anyone who knows what I can do?

  22. ritamou says:

    hello, i was wondering how do i make sure my contacts are backed up to my email?

  23. Ershaad says:

    Thanks for this!! Worked great. Went from 14 Mb to 48 Mb free.

  24. Khan says:

    Good News for “chacha” users. Bootloader is unlocked, thanks to the Htc Dev team. Now you can root your phone or put a custom rom and sure thing get ample internal memory. Presently i’m running with 78mb internal memory freespace. Heres’ thelink help yourself.

    http://www.htcdev.com/bootloader

  25. RobynnxO says:

    Hi!

    This is a great idea that im yet to try.. I Just have a few questions before i reset my phone.. Or throw it out of a window..
    Ohk, so once i reset the phone, im assuming i’ll lose all of my calendar dates & what not.. Is there ANY way of saving this info to my google account? Or am i better off to just make a hard copy & go back to the dinosaur age of writing things down? =P I also checked to see if my contacts where saved to my account, they’re not, is that because i’ve saved them to my sim card instead..? Should i save them to google just incase, & if so, how the heck do i do that..?
    Pleeeeeease, someone give me some advice as soon as possible.. This phones memory is killing me!!
    Thanks =)

    • khan says:

      Sync all ur mobile data using htc sync before trying to root ur device. Wherein calender is concerned i do not think that ur sim card has enough space to store ur calender data! Install htc sync and backup all your media files and calender and in case of phone contacts make a vcf backup file on ur sd and then send it to ur dinosaurs’ age computer(kidding), for this go to: people-press soft key menu – import/export – export to sd .. and u have ur contacts saved

  26. Rabiya says:

    Hey, i just reset my phone. Lost all my contacts since they weren’t synced with google. However, what i want to know is if all the applications will automatically be stored on the sd card, the ones which previously couldn’t be shifted there? the sync isn’t complete yet. Kindly let me know asap.

  27. Rabiya says:

    So sync in complete but I still don’t have my applications back, the previous ones on sd card. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ And facebook and youtube and whatsapp are still on the internal memory. Same thing as before resetting the phone.

  28. Dale says:

    I believe there is no solid solution to solving the internal memory problem. One should not have to root the device to solve any issues, plus you lose the manufacturer guarantee.. I am sending mine back and unfortunately replacing the device for a Desire S, cannot believe they would design the device with such a floor.. I bet they wont upgrade this model of the cha cha any time soon as people will demand replacements.. what a cock-up!

    • khan says:

      Well you are absolutely right in your statement. I fail to guess as to why! HTC would create such a limitation on a perfect value for money device. But else apart i am more that happy or rather content with this cell phone. And rooted my device not considering the warrenty void issue as its almost been 9 months already and i dont think i would need it anyway. There was just one issue which after rooting my device is perfectly solved. So yeah sad move from HTC but the post purchase effort was worth it for chacha has all but more functions than anyother brand offering at the moment.

      P.S: Buy HtC Chacha only after considering this particular issue i.e if you are technologically ready for it. Period.

  29. tasha says:

    hI HAVING THE EXACT SAME TROUBLE. if i do the factory data reset will me texts get deleted? I really dont want them to please tell me…

  30. tasha says:

    will my phone not be too low on storage to download a new app though?

  31. tasha says:

    if I download a text backup app and then do the factory data reset will i get loads of storage back?

  32. tasha says:

    I have downloaded a text back up app, and i think all my pics are on sd card so if i do the factory data reset will my texts and pics still be there? please help me

  33. youyou says:

    hey i have bought a new chacha and its android so i like games he said all wi-fi , bookmarks , other settings and application data will be erased what do i do ? please answer .

  34. Fern says:

    I tried and it works with increasing the memory! Although all app (esp games) were restored and downloaded automatically by the phone itself .. sadly some info (game score, for example) are gone.

    Still, I’m more happy with 80MB I’ve got now. Thanks soooo much for sharing this ๐Ÿ™‚

  35. halo says:

    You guys can just upgrade you device

    settings>about phone>software updates

    mine now has 150MB of internal memory

  36. Cassie thomas says:

    ive done this but now i dont know how to restore all my contacts back on to my phone. help!

  37. aNKUSH says:

    DUDE THANKS ALOT….IT WORKED FOR ME…..BUT DRABIR ARE U SURE DAT UNLOCK BOOTLOADER AS MENTIONED IN OFFICIAL HTC SITE WILL SOLVE THE BATTERY BACKUP PROBLEM??????PLEASE TELL ME YAAR…..COZ UR THIS TRICK WORKED FOR ME……THANKS AGAIN…

  38. drabir says:

    I have written a new post on how permanently get a fix on the memory problem with CM7 and root. http://bit.ly/chachamemfix

  39. Navin says:

    before doing factory rest, i have onesmall query, if i dofactroy reset by backing up, does it guarntee that it’ll will back all my contacts or only those which are suncedwith facebook or gmail…there are numner of contact list which do not have either gmail or facebook…please make me clear guys….

  40. olly mee says:

    what are widgets??

  41. Ellen says:

    How do I move my contacts to my sim or sd card?

    • drabir says:

      I use a custom rom where my contacts are always synced to my google accounts. Checking through my phone I see that there is an export option in my contacts which will let my export all of them to my sd card. Look for something similar in your phone

  42. Jose Vieira says:

    Hi, I reset the HTC without read the coments and lost all I had in the phone including the phone numbers, however I would like to ask how do I prepare the phone to send the data to the sd card? Because I didnt have enough space on the phone I have now a 16GB sd card but the apps, pictures and all the rest doesnt store there, what shall I do? Thanks.

  43. aditi says:

    prob with my htc cha cha internal memory,,,plz add me on gmail as aditi4special@gmail.com

  44. Dear Drabir
    I read your new post

    I wonder if you check that or this one regularly, is lie, I am posting on both.
    sorry for being a pain…
    I actually love my fone, but I have grown sick of low memory

    I tried installing custom rom as you suggested

    I unlocked the boot from HTCDEV
    but I just can;t get S-OFF done
    my fone is S-ON
    and I cant find anyway to S-OFF is except for using XTC CLip, which I dont intend to buy

    Please suggest….

    did you S-OFF with XTC Clip?
    or is there any other way of doing it?

  45. Lauren Mills says:

    OMG you saved me. i was three seconds away from chucking my phoen at a wall cuz you cant even view your messages or basicly use your phone when the memories low and icouldnt even get it to like 100KB beforreee lol. so thank you.

  46. jess htc help says:

    PLEASE HELP! my apps arent coming back? but i had saved them all to my sd card? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  47. momgie says:

    great did work for me thanks a lot.. ๐Ÿ™‚

  48. elsy says:

    what do you mean by : Setup the phone with your previous google account.
    thank you

  49. elsy says:

    THANK YOU!!!!it worked for me!!!!!it went from 10MB internal memory to almost 115MB!! thank you again!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  50. calvinwong says:

    will my contacts still thr?

  51. calvinwong says:

    Why it said that i didn’t hav enough storage to install it after format it? wat da faq?

  52. calvinwong says:

    thr still have alot of storage left in my internal n also sd card – – why?!

  53. Ali says:

    Yo bro for step 2.) where u say ‘Install all applications that you need. Phone memory will get to almost zero’. Do we install all apps and leave them on the phone or can we move them to a memory card before the factory reset process???

  54. NH says:

    I have arabic keyboard installed to my htc chacha, it takes a lot of internal memory.. if i reset the phone, will i lose the arabic keyboard? (right now, after i removed whatsapp, along with other couple of apps, i have like 16 MB)

    i have another Q:
    i have an ipad, at first i didn’t have arabic keyboard there, but after they released a new iOS, they included arabic language to the keyboard, thus i was able to install it and was able to type in arabic.. does this apply to android? (coz in this case, and if its possible to remove the installed arabic keyboard and wait for the new OS with arabic keyboard, rather than having low memory!)

    Thank you ๐Ÿ™‚

  55. munir says:

    Is it posible to make skype video calls and etc yahoo video call on this htc chacha ?

  56. Jireh says:

    I think it worked, thanx ๐Ÿ™‚

  57. Annie says:

    If I do a factory reset, will all my photos be gone? And if so, how do I save them?

  58. alaa says:

    thank you i believe it works!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  59. Marvin says:

    I have 9.7mb memory left on my phone and watsapp takes about 4.7mb but still it says that memory to low when I try to install.

  60. Thanks Drabir. It could be a life-saver as I do not want to root the phone. Are you sure after the reset, GMail, Maps, Facebook, Peep, Internet, YouTube etc. can be moved to SD-Card? I believe their not being able to be moved to SD-Card (factory installed when we buy the phone) is the root of the problem

  61. Jasleen Kaur says:

    by doing this…will i loose all ma conversation with my friends on the viber and the whats app???/

  62. ter-ter says:

    remove your sd card and do the master reset morons ๐Ÿ™‚

  63. Chacha boy says:

    I have an htc chacha and I downloaded what’s app and they told me after a while I had to update it so I did… I downloaded the new version and when I was about to install it they said I didn’t have enough memory… So I deleted the old one and tried to install the new One but they still said I dont have enough space!!! What can I do?!! I want my what’s app back!!! Plz help!

    • drabir says:

      When there is 10mb left, due to some internal safety chacha won’t let you install any app. Suggest you clear the data for a few of your apps and then try installing

  64. marie says:

    Would someone mind giving me simple instructions on how to solve this problem? There are lots of people saying Bootloader or Root using CVM or do a Software update or S-On, S-Off. I’m now totally confused and when I follow the links provided above a level of tech knowledge is assumed that I have no idea about as most phone users would never have to know any of this stuff until they bought an HTC Cha Cha!

    What is the best way to get more memory on this phone and are there simple instructions anywhere?

    I don’t care what apps I lose or if my warranty is invalidated, I have hardly anything downloaded anyway due to the memory problems. I just need this phone to put all the preloaded things on the SD card so I can actually start using it for more than phone calls! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thanks!

    • marie says:

      As an update, I just did a factory reset and now have 113MB free instead of 4. So hopefully that will hold off the need for rooting and booting for a while!

  65. Darnetell says:

    absolutely NONE of my apps remained, and none of my skins or any shit remained!

  66. jeanpaul khoury says:

    hey i have a big problem my htc has reached an almost full storage and is telling me to make at least 512kb free space to receive messages and itโ€™s all because of my contact storage that went up to 28 mgb with no reason and i canโ€™t do anything i canโ€™t open anything what do i do plz help

  67. GAry says:

    This is a complete waste of time. All you need to do is move your apps and clear your cache.

    TIME WASTE!

  68. kay says:

    can you please, make a video and post it

    thankyou

  69. shahadat says:

    I did the same processs..bt its again come back….
    Is thr any way to increase it …..another way. ..?

  70. Fady J. AbRยฎ says:

    thx mate.. after importing my contacts and stuff to the sd card.. i followed the steps and bingo.. got up from 5.1 mbs to 121 mbs in no time… i just had to reinstall whatsapp and some other market apps… u just saved me the price of another mobile phone.. was planning to sell mine and get another before this trick ๐Ÿ˜€ please when is the link2sd ready to be explained???

  71. Jes says:

    hey, i have done the factory data reset several times now and the next day it already says i don’t have enough space available. The apps that come with the phone can’t update because not enough space. What should i do?

  72. Get an application from Google Play that automatically makes your internal memory as SD Card memory. http://bit.ly/143ss7I

  73. SAMER says:

    ุงู‡ ูŠุง ุงุจู† ุงู„ูƒู„ุจ ูŠุง ูˆุงุทู‰ ุŒ ูˆุงุฏุชู†ู‰ ูู‰ ุฏุงู‡ูŠู‡
    ูŠุง ุจุชูˆุน ุงู„ุงููŠุงู„ ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  74. saifulwaki says:

    post a video on youtube how to do this, please?

  75. saifulwaki says:

    Thank Mate!!!!!! if you know what I mean.. hehehehhe (Y)

  76. Joana says:

    i have an htc cha cha and i did everything you told me to: clicked backup and etc and now synced my google account and no apps appeared… why and how can i fix it? this way it wasn’t worth it, would have rathered struggling eith my previous 13mb

  77. ebdaa says:

    FOR ALL “”””” PLZZZZZZZZ “”””” : MOVE/COPY YOUR CONACTS LIST TO THE sim card BEFOOOORE anything & THEN REMOOOOOOOOVE YOUR sim card & Mermoy card BEFOOOOOOOOORE DOING ((( factory data reset ))) >> cause if you did’nt YOU WILL LOOOOOOSE ALL OF YOUR CONTACT LIST when reopen you mob. .. i’m say the truth

  78. Louielouie says:

    Hey! I can’t visit the website of your new update regarding the mem fix of HTC Status. Please post the exact website address please. I’m a new user and the last time I did reset my phone, all were deleted.

  79. kartika permedi says:

    i’m not sure to try this

  80. Minecraft says:

    Wonderful blog! I found it while surfing around on Yahoo News.
    Do you have any suggestions on how to get listed in Yahoo News?
    I’ve been trying for a while but I never seem to get there!
    Cheers

  81. kpshanna says:

    Memory card goes automatically removed in HtC Explorer… plz help me..

  82. Washington A. Kolleh says:

    You surely do worth my commendation! Your suggestions really worked for me. Thanks a million.

  83. mastering says:

    What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this site regularly,
    this web page is genuinely pleasant and the viewers
    are actually sharing good thoughts.

  84. aakash says:

    My phn htc chacha was locked due due to many attempts of wrong pattern nw its asking an email add an passward by putting those too its not maching and not opening plz sir any one help me wht shuld i do?

  85. aakash ramgirwar says:

    How to open the forgotten pattern lock of chacha

  86. […] How to: Get More Internal Memory in HTC ChaCha a.k.a HTC … โ€“ Oct 17, 2011ย ยท If you already dismissed all the linked suggestion, and the contact storage is still having a high portion on your internal memory, try to logging out in …… […]

  87. […] How to: Get More Internal Memory in HTC ChaCha a.k.a HTC โ€ฆ โ€“ 2011-10-17ย ยท Update: I have written a new post that needs a bit more effort but solves the memory issue. Be warned, it requires a root and a custom rom. On a positive …… […]

  88. stph says:

    hi Drabir!can u pls help me,htc sync can’t find my phone and also my phone can’t find htc sync on my pc,what must I do?pls reply!!!!!!!! ๐Ÿ™‚ i really need this before I do the reset factory data pls pls pls!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  89. Beltha says:

    this htc cha cha is realy a bullshit thing no memory ,u
    can use your sd card as your default storage. why?

Leave a Reply

